Logo/icon
the british voice association

Voice care

Voice CENs (Clinical Excellence Networks)

Clinical Excellence Networks (or CENs as they are often known), are groups of Speech and Language Therapists local to a region, who share the same area of interest and expertise. They usually meet several times during the year to share knowledge and develop their skills through study days.

The British Voice Association has a reciprocal agreement with UK Voice CENs who circulate their members with information about Association events and provide the us with information about their study days. British Voice Association members interested in attending a Voice CEN event should contact the CEN organisers directly.

 

London Voice CEN

The committee consists of 4 Speech and Language Therapists. The Chairperson is Julia Selby. All contact made with this CEN should be via Tom Butler, Membership Secretary e-mail: londonvoicecen@outlook.com

This CEN covers the London area and the south East but has members all over the country and welcomes people with an interest in voice from any area to their study days.

They run 2 full study days and 1 half study day each year. The AGM takes place as part of the December study day.

Membership costs £25 per year (Jan to Jan) and entitles members to attend the half study day for free and the other two days at a reduced cost.


Thursday 6 July 2017
Central London

London Voice CEN Summer Study Day: Surgical Updates & Surgical Listening

  • What’s new in voice surgery?
  • What does it mean for our patients?
  • How do recent studies on revision diagnoses inform our understanding of the incidence of vocal pathologies and the indicators for reviewing the diagnosis?
  • How does the research inform our perceptual assessment and history taking skills?

Speakers

Mr Guri Sandhu FRCS (ORL-HNS) Consultant Otolaryngologist/Head and Neck Surgeon, Charing Cross Hospital

Mr Nick Gibbins FRCS (ORL-HNS), MD, Consultant Otolaryngologist, University Hospital Lewisham

Tori Burnay, Principal Speech and Language Therapist, St Thomas' Hospital

 

Find out more and book online

 

Scottish Voice CEN

Chair – Georgina Parkinson: georgina.parkinson@nhslothian.scot.nhs.uk (currently on maternity leave)

Secretary – Clare Tarr: clare.tarr@nhs.net

Treasurer – Leigh Russell: leigh.russell@nhs.net

This CEN covers the whole of Scotland but welcomes any Voice Therapist to meetings.

Membership for the year remains £10. They aim to hold a minimum of 2 meetings a year.

 

North East Voice CEN

The North East Voice CEN covers the North East and Cumbria but welcomes members from all over the country. Membership is £10 for the year which enables access to Basecamp and attendance at CEN meetings and study days.

The committee consists of:

Chair – Clare Emerson: clareemerson@nhs.net

Secretary – Jen Murphy: Jennifer.murphy5@nuth.nhs.uk

Treasurer – Louise Vincent: louise.vincent5@nhs.net

RCSLT Link and basecamp coordinator – Mandeep Bhabra: mandeep.bhabra@chsft.nhs.uk

 

South West Voice CEN

This CEN holds 1 to 2 study days a year, generally just south of Bristol. The majority of members are from the South West, but all meetings are open. Membership is currently £10, and entitles members to a discount on the study day. Previous study days include: "5 Voices for Teaching" and "Therapy for the Singing Voice".

Amanda Carr – (Chair): amanda.carr@UHBristol.nhs.uk

Henrietta Samler – (Treasurer): henrietta.samler@nhs.net

Marianne Bos-Clark – (Membership Secretary): mbosclark@marjon.ac.uk

 

Trent Voice CEN

The committee comprises:

Anna White: annahanson80@hotmail.com

Madeline Atherden: madeline.atherden@dchs.nhs.uk

Karen Esposito: karen.esposito@sth.nhs.uk

Barbara Molteno: barbara.molteno@vocalisptp.co.uk

This CEN covers the areas of Nottinghamshire, Derbyshire, Yorkshire, and Lincolnshire primarily but has members from all over the country at present and welcomes any Voice Therapist to meetings.

Membership for the year remains £10. They hold a minimum of 2 meetings a year, plus run an annual "New to Voice" Study Day.

Calendar icon What's on:
bva Seminars and Events plus much more

Button iconJoin us Now!
Great savings on event tickets plus other benefits

Newsletter (cover) our newsletter
Published 3 times a year – Download a sample

Leaflet (cover) free voice care leaflets & information – download here

Give as you live (logo) Help our work by donating while you shop